University of Louisiana System CLOSEPRINT

Mission Statement

Mission Statement
(approved Summer 2006)

The University of Louisiana System is a public, multi-campus university system dedicated to the service of Louisiana and its people. The System offers a broad spectrum of educational opportunities ranging from technical training at the associate level to research at the doctoral level. It encompasses eight diverse higher education institutions: Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and University of Louisiana at Monroe. While these eight institutions share the responsibility for providing high-quality educational opportunities for the people of Louisiana through a lifetime of intellectual growth, each institution's specific mission is shaped by its historic and unique strengths.
The fundamental mission of the System is to emphasize teaching, research, and community service to enhance the quality of life for the State's citizens. Through this mission, students are afforded experiences to discover, create, transmit, and apply knowledge. The purpose of the System is to provide high quality education that is cost efficient to both students and taxpayers, enabling students to reach their highest potential.


Contact: Cami Geisman
225.219.0270  |